I have a question about giving away an iPhone.

Forum
Other Apple Chat

Hi all. I would like to give away my iPhone 6 Plus. However, I have a question. When I erase all content and settings, will I also disable voice-over? Also, I would like to be sure that my info can't be restored or accessed by the new user. I have no PC so I don't think there is much else I can do other than using the erase all content and settings option.

Options

Comments

Submitted by TJT 2001 on Tuesday, November 13, 2018

After you choose the option to erase all of the content in the Settings app, iPhone will delete your data and reboot itself. It will show the welcome screen that you see when you turn on iPhone for the first time or whenever you do some iOS updates. From a software perspective, your data has been completely erased and cannot be accessed through the software itself, and thus VoiceOver is disabled unless you triple-click the home button.

Disclaimer: It may still be possible to recover data if a person were to break apart the iPhone and use the kinds of tools that are used to scrape hard drives for data when files are deleted, but it is very unlikely that a person would do this, so do not erase your data with this method if there is extremely sensitive information on the device.

Submitted by Rafal on Tuesday, November 13, 2018

Follow the above steps but also: 1. before deleting everything log out fon yyour device from ICloud, 2. delete all content and them remove the device from your ICloud account. You may do it by going to settings, on another device, clicking your name and remove the device you've previously restored to factory settings. Please note that anyone who will have your iphone will be able to turn on VoiceOver and configure it the way they wish.

When your iPhone reboots after wiping everything Voiceover will not be on. While this is a good thing in this instance it does mean you may have trouble using the swipe option to shut the phone down completely. Sighted assistance may be needed for this final step.